CUSTOMERS REVIEWS

  • Misha K
    2016-11-09

    Came in for watch repair. Amazing service and attention to detail. Definitely coming back for my engagement ring.

  • Caren P. Z.
    2017-09-06

    We first met Alex over 30 years ago, and have enjoyed his talent and workmanship ever since! He has such clear vision of whatever the style or design his customer has in mind, and the work is always outstanding. His staff is courteous, friendly, and helpful, and it makes it a pleasure to be there. Beautiful things, wonderful people to know! I am loving my newest piece, a ring which Alex reset, every day!

  • Jane G. A.
    2017-10-19

    Alex is an artist! He creates the most beautiful pieces of jewelry. He has a passion for the art, and creates lasting beauty for the owner to wear proudly and enjoy. I "ditto" Sarah's comments and will re-emphasize that Alex and his team are mindful and sensitive to the customer's desires and pocketbook. This is a company of integrity. While Alex & Co. deals in the highest quality of stones and materials, they give a fair price and will be respectful towards your desired outcome. You should also see what he can do with good, outdated jewelry! Don't get rid of it or stick it in a drawer! Talk to Alex about how you might have a new, more current piece made. I have had a few pieces re-purposed and they are spectacular. Alex is amazing!

  • Samantha W
    2017-10-18

    I brought two rings and a bracelet to Alex & Co. to be cleaned and dipped. The service was excellent. Dropped off in the morning, picked up this afternoon.They look brand new, and will look perfect for my wedding this weekend. I had called one other jeweler in Newton, and they quoted me (for one ring being dipped) what my total cost was at Alex & Co. Thank you Alex & Co. I will be back!

  • Sarah S
    2016-12-29

    Engagement ring envy!! Alex & Co not only delivered a beautiful custom setting but they were thoughtful, caring, timely, and communicated with us throughout the process. The outcome is a gorgeous oval ring with a hidden gallery beneath and a diamond band. Alex, Danny, Andy, and all the staff (including their cute pup Charlie) are attentive and a pleasure to work with. They make it their mission to understand your vision by sharing examples and asking the right questions and, for us, exceeded expectations. If you want a custom piece made by an experienced and knowledgeable craftsmen you will not go wrong with Alex & Co.

  • Becky R
    2017-11-27

    I can’t say enough good things about this place! From their craftsmanship to their customer service, Alex & Co. delivered in every aspect. My fiancé had my engagement ring custom made here and I couldn’t be happier! The experience was better than he could have ever imagined. Alex and his staff are warm and welcoming (unlike many other jewelry places). They take the time to listen to your vision, ask questions, and make helpful suggestions. From the moment you walk in, they make you feel special and treat you as if you’re their only customer. Alex and his team are without a doubt extremely talented craftsmen. It goes without saying; I highly recommend stopping by if you’re in the market for any type of jewelry. I can’t wait to go back for my wedding ring!

  • Therese S
    2019-10-02

    Alex and his abilities to create the perfect piece of custom jewelry is just fantastic! I would highly recommend him. I have purchased many custom pieces from Alex over the years, some designs of his, and some designs of mine. They are all just perfect. We moved out of state a few years ago and yet, he just recently sent to me the eternity band I asked him to make. We worked by phone and emailed pictures; he talked to me at great length to know exactly what I wanted and provided his suggestions. He delivered an incredibly beautiful ring that was just what I wanted. His prices are always fair and reasonable, and the service can’t be beat. He also does pearls - he has a wonderful invisible pearl clasp that allows you to add various lengths of pearls to an existing pearl necklace to customize the length to your outfit, or to add different pendants to the necklace. Alex’s jewelry and the shopping experience at his store are the best!

  • kelly M
    2019-12-05

    I recently had the pleasure of working with Alex and his team. I brought a very tired engagement ring to Alex who worked his magic and made the most incredible ring. I can't stop staring at it...I get so many compliments. Thank you Alex and Company....

  • Michael D
    2019-08-16

    Alex & Co. were such a pleasure to work with and purchase from. In talking with my then-girlfriend, I knew the basics of what she wanted in her engagement ring: the cut, the size, the band, etc. and had read good reviews of their work. Let me say that all of the positive reviews are true. Alex and the staff are amazing. Friendly, helpful, attentive, you couldn't ask for better. When I went in, I sat with Alex and described with I was looking for, and he was able to show me something he'd already designed that was almost exactly what we wanted. If it wasn't though, I knew he could have also created us something from scratch. His work is amazing, and the best balance of cost/size/design etc. but he can also do anything you ask for, that's one of the main advantages: this isn't a cookie-cutter business, you'll get something beautiful, original and amazing. In addition to the engagement ring, we also purchased our wedding rings from them and were 110% happy with those as well. We know we will be back in the future, without a doubt, and that's a mark of a great business. We highly recommend them!

  • Melissa W
    2019-04-18

    Alex and Company is a great jeweler. Alex was great to work with when designing my anniversary ring. My ring came out gorgeous. People stop me all the time to look at the ring. Alex has an extensive knowledge about stones and jewelry design. He will work with you to design what you want within your budget. He knows what will look good and can steer you in the right direction if you need help. I cannot say enough positive things about my experience with Alex and Company. This is a very trustworthy and experienced jeweler.

  • Susan R
    2020-02-05

    Alex made a custom engagement ring for me a few years ago - is just beautiful. Still get compliments all the time. Am now going back to help my daughter shop for her wedding band.

  • Susan R
    2020-03-22

    Alex is truly an artist. He redesigned my engagement ring. His listened patiently to my ideas and then created a masterpiece beyond my expectations

  • Kyle T
    2020-03-28

    My fiance and I aren't big jewelry buyers and we had nearly no knowledge about diamonds or settings. But of course when it came time for me to buy an engagement ring I had find one that she would love. I happened to have an heirloom ring with a diamond of an older (Old Mine) cut. Alex and Joanna were extremely helpful in working with us to find the right setting that would complement my diamond. My fiancee loves her engagement ring, and we both loved the experience we had at Alex & Co. The service was friendly, helpful, and informative! I will definitely be back looking for wedding bands. One note: My fiance has very small hands and because of that we had a little trouble getting the right size at first. But when we brought the ring back to be resized, the process went very smoothly.

  • Sara N
    2020-04-23

    Alex & Company were wonderful throughout the whole process of helping with resetting/resizing my engagement ring, as well as providing suggestions for a wedding band. The environment was welcoming and I never felt pressured to make a decision - quite the opposite, they let me take all the time I needed to choose the wedding band that would make me happiest. I cannot recommend them enough, and if I have any other jewelry needs, they will be who I turn to!

  • Brett L
    2020-06-25

    I purchased my fiancé’s engagement ring at Alex and Co. It was a 5 star experience all around. He took the time to educate me on what I was buying and truly made it an enjoyable experience. The rings he makes himself are out of this world and have received numerous comments from everyone.

  • Lucy G
    2020-07-31

    Alex engraved a gift for me. Could not be happier with the finished item. Very quick and friendly service. I was able to email the exact inscription and font and pick the item up 2 days later.

  • Daniel Y
    2020-09-25

    We not only purchased an absolutely gorgeous engagement ring, but also have created a lifelong relationship. Alex's work is incredible, and he puts a lot of effort into getting to know his customers - handcrafting the perfect masterpiece for them and making sure they are happy and involved very step of the way.

  • Natalie K
    2020-06-30

    I was looking for a jeweler who could turn my grandmother's engagement ring and wedding band into a ring that I could wear to commemorate her. I had been looking at various ring styles online for months, but I could not decide on a design or envision how the stones would look in a particular setting. For so long, I had been indecisive about exactly what I wanted, but Alex's confidence, honesty, and expertise helped me to move forward with the process. He looked through all of the designs I'd saved online and talked me through each of them to get a sense of what I liked. By the time we were done, I could tell that Alex was really excited and passionate about this project, and he was confident that he could design a timeless ring that matched my style. He was right! I absolutely love the finished product, I couldn't have asked for anything better. Thank you Alex!

  • Phi T
    2020-09-10

    I worked with Alex on a custom engagement ring (rose gold, hidden halo, thin Pavé band). Throughout, the experience has been top-notch. Alex drafted the initial design on paper and steered the design in a particular direction where it made sense (e.g., look of the halo). The end result is a stunningly beautiful ring and the quality of craftsmanship outstanding. My girlfriend loved it. I would recommend Alex without hesitation to anyone looking for a high quality jeweler in the Boston area.

  • Robin S
    2016-04-07

    My fiance told me he wanted to stop at Alex & Co "to get his dad's tie tack fixed" while on our way to Marshall's to go shopping. Imagine my surprise upon entering the store to find his mother's diamond on the tray, and the entire staff, including Alex, laughing and wishing us congratulations as my fiance got down on his knee to propose. Alex came out with the perfect setting for the ring, even dissuading us from using larger diamonds in the setting (which would have earned him more money!) because they would have taken away from the beauty of the center stone. An honest businessman, if ever there was one! When the ring was done, we could not believe how amazing it was. Complete strangers, such as airline staff checking me in for a flight, often compliment me on this beautiful ring. I cannot stop looking at it! Alex & Co is the place to go if you want beautiful jewelry, created by a Master Craftsman, professional service, honesty, and quality. It does not get any better than this! Read less

  • Teddy S
    2012-12-04

    Shopping for jewelry can be intimidating. Especially true for men! When looking for the "Perfect" engagement ring for my beautiful bride, I was recommended to try Alex & Co. Having been to the discount places and those HUGE retail jewelers around Metro-West and leaving empty-handed and somewhat discouraged...nothing to lose by trying Alex, right? First impression: Cozy in here. Store is immaculate, warm, well layed out and easy to view what I was interested in. So far, very nice. Staff: Smiling. Warmly, genuinely smiling at me. Friendly and sincerely, the people behind the counter really want to help me find the Perfect ring. They aren't just trying for my money. They are asking questions: Tell me about yourself; your bride to be; your lifestyle; your expectations...this is so comforting. These people are in touch with my emotion. They realize that I want a ring on my wife's finger that I will be proud of, forever. Finally, a jeweler who cares to understand me. Selection: It's all the same to me. And they have plenty of it. Sparkles, sparkles, sparkles...some are ranked higher than others...colors, cuts and clarity...this designer, that designer...platinum vs gold...UGH! I am no jewelry expert and it's overwhelming. Something is different here. Oddly, we aren't talking about prices. This is the first place who didn't begin with, "What's your budget?" We are looking at settings first. How did they know that I cared more about the setting than blowing my budget on a stone? Oh yeah, these people care about what I want to see on my wife's left finger. Style: Here's the BEST part- Alex and his son, Danny (this is as true a family business as you could find) are literally allowing me to design exactly what I want! Seriously. They are allowing me to point out the features of certain rings in their cases while Alex takes a pencil and paper and actually sketches my dream ring into reality. Who does this? Alex and Co does. A couple of hours later (yes, they gave me hours of their time, gladly) and with absolute confidence I have the Perfect ring, on paper. WOW! It's so beautiful that I wish I could have it immediately...but have to wait a couple weeks for Alex to create it. How cool is that?! Something hasn't been discussed yet... The Stone: Now that I have a ring design truly worthy of the LOVE of my life, she needs a stone. I know that the "3 C's" are very much standardized. All the other stores I had visited had me so trained and conditioned to find my spot in the ladder of Cut, Clarity and Carat weight that I need only to find the largest, cleanest, least infractioned gem to fit my budget. This I am prepared for. What I didn't see coming is Alex's recommendation. He says to keep the ring, "Balanced and the stone should fit into the setting without overwhelming it". Whoa! He isn't trying to sell me a flawless 3 Carat rock by showing my low grade, yellowish .95's...this is something all-together different! As if it was all destined to be, Alex and Danny found the Perfect stone for the Perfect ring. Price: The clincher. I don't know how other men put a value on their Love. I believe that we (men) go out there shopping for rings hoping to find that diamond-in-the-rough which is the size of marble, with the brightness of the sun, for the price of a used car. We each want our bride to have the most glamour at the next social gathering. We want our future in-laws to be impressed by our adoration of their daughter...forever. We are somehow brainwashed into believing that providing her the biggest stone equates to having the biggest stones, ourselves. In the end, we simply do the best we can. I never felt pressured to go beyond my means at Alex's. Feeling really good, really proud and really excited now! Alex and Co completely upped my expectations, changed my view of jewelry shopping forever, and created for the Love of my life an engagement ring that gets more attention than I ever imagined possible. It fits her personality, it fit my budget and like our Love, it is one-of-a-kind and Perfect! Alex, Sofie and Daniel Zamsky & Co. are a wonderful part of the story of my engagement and marriage. I am proud to be their customer, knowing how much they care for what they do. I enjoy telling the story. I am so proud of this ring!

  • Andrew G
    2015-09-07

    I'm not sure to express how thankful I am to Alex and Co for designing such a beautiful engagement ring. They went above and beyond in every way. The most valuable thing they added to the conversation, besides of course the ring, was saying no to certain ideas I had because they knew they wouldn't come out like I expected. They instead knew what I was going after, and helped me to come up with an alternate solution that would fit the same need and look nice. The ring in the end was gorgeous. While I would like to say I gave direction, it was absolutely their artistry that made it turn out so beautiful. I would and have highly recommended their business, and look forward to getting future pieces there.

  • Cari A
    2014-02-27

    Best. Engagement. Ever! My husband (we got engaged in June and married last month), and I never spoke about rings, and when I opened that ring box I was so elated, because the ring was AMAZING! He designed and explained how he wanted it to look, and Alex & Co nailed it to perfection. My husband said the process was fun, stress free, and a breath of fresh air from some other companies he was working with prior. Thanks to Alex & Co for being a huge part of our engagement, and allowing me to smile everyday when I look at my ring:) What a day, what a ring...what a man!

  • Lana R
    2012-08-21

    Great experience at Alex & Co! I've brought in several items of jewelry to the store and each piece was fixed perfectly and shines even brighter now. I also purchased a gift for a relative here because they have a nice selection of rings, necklaces, and earrings. I have my eyes on a pair of earrings there which I hope to receive as an anniversary present soon ;) Thank you to the great team for their wonderful customer service!

  • jeff z
    2015-01-05

    Alex & Co was my first and last stop when shopping for an engagement ring. I came in with very little knowledge about diamonds and had no idea where to even start. Daniel sat down with me and was extremely helpful. He took his time to educate and guide me through the process. I truly felt like an expert after spending an hour with Daniel. My fiancée couldn't be happier with the ring. I shopped around quite a bit and could not find anything that matches Alex & Co's quality and unique design. They truly are the best at what they do. Thank you again to Daniel and Alex for all of your help!

  • Yasa E
    2012-11-27

    Not sure what these people are talking about when they say they received bad customer service at this store. I have never gotten anything but superb service here! This is a true Family Business, as genuine as they come. This is one of the only places in the area that specializes in custom jewelry, with amazing designs too. They have Best of Boston awards to prove it. Whoever is writing these terrible reviews is just a vindictive, petty person trying to ruin this lovely store's reputation. I love my bling bling and the Zamsky's have an abundunce of the highest quality stones and some interesting settings. When he likes it and he puts a ring on it, i'm sending him to Alex & Co :)

  • Dmitriy K
    2016-12-29

    I bought an engagement ring from Alex and Co. My fiancée couldn't be happier with it, and I couldn't be happier with my experience working with Alex and Dan. From the first consultation I could tell that I'm working with true professionals. Alex worked with me to create the perfect design, and the final ring looked even better than I had imagined. If you're looking to create something trully unique and beautiful, Alex and Co have the talent and skill to make it happen.

  • Rena K
    2019-07-01

    Beautiful jewelry here pieces that you will not see anywhere else. The repair service is incredible as well. Whether it's for any piece of jewelry or your vintage Rolex. Thank you Alex&Co for always repairing my pieces!

  • Jack P
    2020-01-04

    Alex and Co. I am in my 30s and prefer to do much of my shopping, whether it is clothing, electronics or basic necessities, online. I was tempted to look for an engagement ring online as I was convinced I could find a better deal and have it be more convenient than having to go from store to store. But nonetheless, I wanted to have an idea of what I was buying and my girlfriend wanted to see what options looked like. We went to maybe 3 or 4 stores and then she found Alex and Co on Instagram and we instantly did not regret it. Alex was patient, informative and really cared about finding the right ring and made my girlfriend and I feel like we were in good hands. Their showroom is very impressive and they have an amazing variety of settings and even more diamonds. And if you can't find the diamond you want, Alex WILL find it for you. And while I am on the topic... many 20 somethings and 30 somethings may be tempted to buy online. Please trust me that it really is not worth it. There are a lot of bluff diamonds and clarity enhanced diamonds out there that you feel you're getting an amazing deal on. Once you see them in person, they look terrible. I really have to say that despite my natural tendencies to buy everything online, it is really worth going to a reputable jeweler who has GIA certified diamonds and a jeweler who will never steer you to a poor quality diamond. After our first consultation, I came back 3 more times alone as I wanted to be sure I had all the information I possibly could. Each time Alex was patient, informative and most importantly, remembered what my girlfriend liked and remembered her reaction to each piece he showed her and reminded me of that. I am very happy with the overall experience and I cannot wait to propose to my girlfriend with this ring. I came in right at my budget, never pushed to go beyond it and the entire experience felt custom, bespoke and personalized. No other jewelry store deserves your business, if you have any plans to wow a loved one, come to Alex and Co and nowhere else.